Don York's Group

Professor Don York is the Horace B. Horton Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the University of Chicago. He is the Founding Director of both the Sloan Digital Sky Survey and the Apache Point Observatory. He has been a member of the faculty of the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics since 1983.

The Senior Scientists in the York group are Dr. Dan Welty and Dr. Priscilla Frisch.

Research Scientist, Vikram Dwarkadas.

Hubble Scientist, Jason Tumlinson.

Ph.D.'s from the group include Chris Mallouris (IAP, Paris), Connie Rockosi (University of Washington in Seattle), Gordon Richards (Princeton University), Dan Vanden Berk (University of Pittsburg), Varsha Kulkarni (University of South Carolina), James Lauroesch (Northwestern University), James Fowler (University of Texas), Geoff Burks (Tennessee State University), Brian Yanny (Fermilab), and Adeline Caulet (ESO). For research topics of graduate students click here: Research Topics

The York group actively encourages undergraduate research. Physics undergraduates currently working with the York group include Sarah Chapman, Ami Choi, Abhishek Kumar, Britt Lundgren, Stephanie Morris, Ben Recchie, Tristan Smith, and Matthew Wood. In addition, Nicole Rosner from the University of Chicago Laboratory School works with our group.

Past postdocs in the York group include Dr. Dave Meyer, who is now head of the Dept. of Physics and Astronomy at Northwestern University. Past graduate students in this group include ........ University of Chicago undergraduates who have completed Senior Research Projects in the past in the York group include Dr. Ken Sembach and Dr. Matt Carlson.

Webmaster: none; Last modified March 15, 2002